Academic Partners

A Word From Our University Partner

“The University of South Florida is proud and honored to work with ARCS in supporting the best and brightest students in natural sciences, medicine and engineering. We share a common vision that sustaining the most talented students in these crucial fields is important for the future of our community, our state and our nation. This partnership is a true testament to individuals, corporate and civic organizations and institutions of higher education working together to make a difference.”

Dr. Judy Genshaft
Univeristy of South Florida System
Click here to learn more about programs supported at USF.



University Support Through ARCS Scholar Awards

A Tampa Bay ARCS Scholar Award is a prestigious, unrestricted award of $15,000 ($5,000 per year for three years) that provides an essential tool for recruiting and retaining top students to the College of Marine Science and the Ph.D. Program Cancer Biology at Moffitt, College of Arts and Science - University of South Florida.

Pam Hallock Muller - Mentor of the Year

Congratulations to Dr. Pamela Hallock Muller, professor in the College of Marine Science, on her selection as the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Minority PhD Program’s Mentor of the Year during the Compact for Faculty Diversity/Institute on Teaching and Mentoring Conference held October 25-28, in Tampa, FL.  Dr. Hallock Muller is the director of the Coral Reef Indicators Lab and was nominated by Michael Martinez-Colón, a doctoral student in her research group.
Each year, only one faculty advisor from Sloan programs throughout the nation is selected for “demonstrated excellence in mentoring, contributions to increasing diversity and meeting other goals of the Compact’s Mission”.  

Dr. Hallock Muller is a Founding Member of ARCS Foundation Tampa Bay and is an ARCS Scholar (Hawaii).

Melissa Price receives the Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award

Melissa Price (ARCS Scholar Tampa Bay), a USF cancer cell biology graduate student and member of Dr. Alvaro Monteiro’s lab at Moffitt, has been awarded the Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award for Individual Predoctoral Fellows. This National Institutes of Health award is considered one of the most competitive predoctoral fellowships available. (September 2012).

Melissa Price – Cancer Biology

"I have just completed the Eukaryotic Gene Expression Course at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories and I would like to thank you for allowing me to have this amazing experience.....This course has provided useful knowledge that I will continue to use to search for a cure for cancer.